Minimalism: And Happiness

I’m a big believer in the idea that the whole point of life is happiness. Real, genuine, happiness. It’s easy to think we know what the point is, but to achieve that point, a different story. This is where minimalism comes in, for me at least. (And hopefully you as well). How so? It cuts out the distractions. Tim Waggoner said “When you start with nothing, and pair it down to the essentials of what makes you happy and what makes your life tick, you’re always going to be happy with very little.” and I believe that statement word for word.

Now minimalism isn’t going to solve all of our problems and put us in a state of never ending bliss, but it is definitely a means to an end. What are our biggest inhibitors of real happiness? The easy fix of consumerism instead of addressing our issues. I’ve been guilty of this myself. I used to have a slight case of depression, which just so happened to be at a time I was making more money than ever and blowing it all on clothes, music, going out, and skateboards. About 6 months later, I was in a shrinks office. Needless to say, it wasn’t sustainable.

Now, after living the minimalist lifestyle for quite some time, I can honestly say that I’ve never been happier as a person. I don’t rely on outside sources for internal happiness. If something arises that has negative connotations, I nip it in the bud right away and I can do this because I don’t have anything to sink myself in to as a distraction. No shopping sprees, no new skateboards, no going out on the town to drown my worries. Just myself and my issues.

This may not sound like fun, addressing all of our deepest, darkest issues but I can tell you with 100% certainty that a day or two of figuring out what went wrong and how to fix it is much better than a lifetime of said issue creeping up when we least expect it. It’s a life changing ability to be able to work through our issues at the time they arise, and I honestly believe that everybody has the ability, even if it seems impossible at the time.

An added plus for the future is that after we work through our issues, our time is freed up to focus on what e actually enjoy. I’ve found out more about myself in the last 2 years than the rest of my life combined. I’ve only done what I really enjoy, and “cut away the fat” so to speak. I’m confident with who I am, because I’ve had the time and energy to find out who I am and not who I thought I should be. It’s hard to be unhappy when the majority of what you do is what you actually want to do and feeds your personal growth on an individual level.

It may be tough, but I promise that it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

