Minimalism: And Filling A Home

This is a tough topic for many people because most of our lives people see our success by our homes and what we have in those homes. How will people know we’re successful if we don’t live in a 4,000 square foot house with a 60 inch television inside of it? How will people know we’re successful if we don’t have a front room AND living room? Doesn’t every person need their own bathroom?

Success has been long measure by possessions and our home is possibly our most important possession, but it doesn’t have to be the marking stick for our worth. I just bought a home, granted it’s a starter home I only plan to be in for a couple years, but a home none the less. It’s a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom home that totals around 1200 square feet. There are 3 adults and a baby living here and yet it’s still more than enough room for all of us. It’s a little larger than what I wanted, but still pretty modest compared to the homes I grew up in for most of my life.

Owning a home, you NEED to own more things than you did when you were somebody else’s dependent, but it’s easy go off the deep end. Do we really need 10 plates for 3 people? How about a closet full of towels even though we use the same one over and over? It’s definitely been a learning curve but it’s more than possible to own just the essentials as a first time home buyer. The stores selling home products like to sell things in bulk, but if we keep true to the minimalists ideal, staying modest with our possessions in easy.

Buying as many dinnerware items as people in the house is an easy way to start. There are 4 people in my household and we have a set of 4 plates, 4 bowls, 4 cups, and 4 of each silverware. We have one television and soon to be a 3 person couch. We have a simple set of ceramic pots and pans (that I happen to be really stoked on), and just like to keep things as simple as possible. Since moving, I have downsized my clothes even more, cut down on the electronics, and just simplified as much as possible.

The thing that people always forget about is that when we buy less quantity, we can afford more quality. Sure, I only have a simple pot and pan set, but they’re nice ceramic pots and pans. My set of dinnerware is a nice ceramic set as well. And my 1 knife, you guess it, ceramic! I may have to do dishes a lot more often, but these items I own bring joy to my life when I use them, and that’s what minimalism is all about.

Don’t own more than we need, but make sure what we own brings joy to our lives.

Leave a Reply

